·

Advice

The Best CRM Software for Financial Advisors in Canada (2026)

The Best CRM Software for Financial Advisors in Canada (2026)

·

24 minute read

·

By

Philippe Tardif-Michaud

There's no single best CRM for financial advisors in Canada. The right one depends on four things: whether your dealer or MGA already supplies one, whether your practice is insurance-led or investment-led, how many people share the client record, and how much of the admin you expect AI to handle.

This guide compares seven CRMs, with every price and feature checked on the vendors' own pages on 20 and 21 October 2026. Five come up in my conversations with Canadian advisors: Equisoft/connect, Maximizer, Laylah, Cloven and Salesforce Financial Services Cloud. The other two, Wealthbox and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Sales, show up in the eight Canadian guides I found during that review, all written by a vendor or its implementation partner. I wrote it for independent advisors, planners, insurance advisors and the teams around them, so you can get to a shortlist of two or three vendors and price the whole stack before you book a demo.

Quick answer, as of 20 October 2026

Start with your dealer or MGA. If it supplies or approves a CRM, begin there: it decides which system receives your account and policy feeds. Insurance-led practices in Canada should look first at Equisoft/connect (CAD $105 per user per month), Laylah ($120 per seat per month billed annually, hosted in Canada) and Cloven (CAD $1,260 per user per year on Zoho). Investment-led practices should look at Maximizer (CAD $100 to $125 per user per month, Canadian hosting, French, AI summaries in the top tier). Wealthbox ($59 to $99, built-in AI) belongs on that list only once it confirms Canadian hosting in writing: its current privacy policy says data is stored in the United States. Firms of twenty seats or more, and dealers, should compare Salesforce Financial Services Cloud (USD $325 to $700) and Dynamics 365 (CAD $88.20 to $203.50) with an implementation partner.

A separate AI meeting assistant is a second bill on top of the CRM. With a Canadian CRM at about CAD $1,200 to $1,500 per advisor per year, the total comes to about CAD $2,250 to $2,550 with Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher (CAD $1,068 a year on the annual plan). With Continuum Core (CAD $948 a year on the annual plan), it's about CAD $2,150 to $2,450. Both are built in Canada. With a US-based assistant, Zocks, Jump or Focal ($804 to $1,200 a year, no currency code on their pages), you're at about $2,000 to $2,700. Of those three, only Focal hosts its data in Canada.

How this guide was researched

Every price and feature below comes from the vendor's own pages, and the five Canadian pricing pages were checked by hand a second time. Each source is linked where it's used. The rules come from the regulators' own text, and the dealer examples from trade press and published customer stories.

For this guide, no demos or trials were run and no vendor was contacted. So anything that only appears on a vendor's own site is labelled a vendor claim. To be transparent: Bloks, which publishes this article and where I work, is building an integrated CRM and AI platform for Canadian advisors, and it already pushes meeting notes into several of the CRMs reviewed here. It isn't reviewed or rated in this guide.

Which CRMs do Canadian financial advisors actually use?

No public survey measures CRM market share among Canadian advisors. So the honest answer is about structure: three things shape the Canadian market.

The dealer or MGA often decides. IG Wealth Management rolled out an advisor portal on Salesforce Financial Services Cloud to more than 5,000 users from 2019 (Slalom customer story). Richardson Wealth, now rebranding as Nobelia Wealth, has launched Salesforce (Advisor.ca, September 2026).

Manulife Wealth lists Salesforce among its preferred programs (Investment Executive, September 2025), and BMO Nesbitt Burns and Odlum Brown run enterprise Salesforce (Investment Executive, June 2024). On the insurance side, Equisoft/connect gives preferential pricing to advisors in the PPI, HUB and Desjardins networks, and Cloven gives Canada Life advisors a 10 percent discount.

Before any demo, ask your dealer or MGA four things: which CRMs are approved, which ones get a data feed, whether the firm subsidizes one, and whether outside tools have to pass its security review first. In my conversations, that review is common practice in dealer and insurer networks before an advisor can connect client data. A few networks are also starting to build their own AI tools, though that's still anecdotal. When the network decides, the shortlist is theirs, not mine.

The back office decides what the CRM can show. Investment balances live in dealer systems like Univeris, Dataphile, VieFUND or Winfund, and policies live with the carriers. A CRM is only as useful as the feeds it gets from those systems. That's why the Canadian vendors compete on their feed lists, and why US CRMs rarely show a Canadian advisor's book.

Many practices have no CRM at all. Every month, I talk with a hundred financial and insurance advisors on average. Several two- to five-person practices I met in October 2026 run on Outlook, OneDrive and paper. The dealer's portal is their only system of record.

So the Canadian shortlist falls into three groups: dedicated financial-services CRMs built here (Equisoft/connect, Laylah, Cloven), general CRMs with a financial-services edition or a partner template (Maximizer, Salesforce, Dynamics 365), and US advisor CRMs that work in Canada with limits (Wealthbox). Kronos Finance and SmartOffice, two names advisors still ask about, are covered after the reviews.

CRM comparison table for Canadian financial advisors (2026)

Prices are per user per month as published, in the vendor's currency. "No code" means the page shows a dollar sign with no currency code.

CRM

Best suited for

Key features

AI capabilities

Canadian integrations

Published price

Main limitations

Wealthbox

Investment advisors and small teams wanting built-in AI

Households, tasks, workflows, pipelines, 150+ integrations, API

AI Assistant in all tiers; AI Notetaker add-on reads 12 months of CRM activity

None; no carrier or dealer feeds

$59, $75, $99 (no code); Notetaker +$49

Canadian hosting not confirmed on any current page; no French

Salesforce Financial Services Cloud

Dealers, banks, firms of 20+ seats with a partner

Households, financial accounts, life events, action plans, KYC model, audit trail

Agentforce add-on ($150): meeting prep from records, note structuring, record creation

Hyperforce hosting in Canada; French; Montreal and Toronto partners; no feeds named

USD $325, $500, $700, billed annually; no CAD price

Partner-built, unpriced implementation; AI add-on and credits extra

Microsoft Dynamics 365 Sales

Microsoft 365 firms with a partner to build the data model

Accounts, contacts, activities, SharePoint documents, Teams, Dataverse API

Copilot in Enterprise and Premium; Sales agent updates fields with a Microsoft 365 Copilot licence

Canada Central and East regions; no advisor objects or feeds out of the box

CAD $88.20, $142.50, $203.50, paid yearly

Copilot processed in the United States; residency depends on tenant setup

Maximizer

Canadian practices that work in Outlook and want French

Contacts, family connections, action plans, documents, Outlook add-in, API

IQ Boost summaries and AI in Outlook, Financial Services+ only; MCP server for Claude

Canadian Azure hosting; policy imports from 11 carriers; data-lake investment feeds

CAD $90, $100, $125 (billed annually per agreement)

No trial; onboarding, training and imports priced separately

Equisoft/connect

Insurance-led practices whose MGA or dealer feeds it

360 view, timestamped calls and emails, alerts, pre-filled forms, unlimited documents

None native; Continuum, Focal and Bloks Companion write notes; per Equisoft, the first two also read its data

7 carrier feeds, about 45 MGAs and distributors, Univeris, VieFUND, Winfund

CAD $105, monthly plan; partner and enterprise on request

Hosting country not stated; no public API documented

Laylah

Quebec and bilingual practices wanting FNA and a client portal

Cases, workflow templates, built-in FNA, client space, audit log, EN and FR

None shipped; assistant announced

22 dealers and MGAs, 13 insurers; AWS Canada

$120 Growth (billed annually), $140 Scale

Young vendor, no customer counts published; SOC 2 in progress; API coming soon

Cloven

Small practices on iA Private Wealth, Investia or Canada Life books

360 profiles with policies, workflow builder, review campaigns, Zoho suite

AI assistant reads CRM data for briefings; AI Investment Bot alerts

Daily iA Private Wealth, Investia, NDEX feeds; Canada Life on demand

CAD $1,260 per year; CAD $126 monthly

English only; Canadian hosting claimed but not documented; no SOC 2 statement

Does client data have to stay in Canada?

Generally, no. Canadian privacy law doesn't require a financial advisor's client data to be stored in Canada. But under PIPEDA, the advisor stays accountable for it wherever it's processed. And Quebec's Law 25 requires a privacy impact assessment and a written agreement before personal information leaves Quebec, including to another province. This is general information, not legal advice, so check it with your compliance officer before you decide.

PIPEDA makes your practice responsible for personal information "transferred to a third party for processing". The Privacy Commissioner's 2009 guidelines say a transfer is a use rather than a disclosure, and they make no distinction between domestic and foreign processors. You must make it plain to clients that their information may be processed in another country. Law 25, section 17 applies to a US-hosted CRM, and your dealer's policy may simply require Canada. Here's where the seven stand:

CRM

Hosting statement

SOC 2

French

Canadian feeds

Law 25 statement

Wealthbox

Privacy policy: United States; 2025 Canada announcement not confirmed

Type II (vendor statement)

No

None

None found

Salesforce FSC

Hyperforce in Canada when the org is created there; processing may leave Canada

In scope (Salesforce Services report)

Yes

None named

None found

Dynamics 365 Sales

Canada regions, subject to tenant setup; Copilot processed in the US

Type 2 (Microsoft scope)

French listed

None

None found

Maximizer

Canadian Azure data centres

Type II (vendor statement; report on request)

French edition

11 carriers; data lake

None found

Equisoft/connect

Not stated; policy allows storage outside Canada

SSAE 18 SOC 2, type unstated

French site; UI not confirmed

7 carriers, about 45 MGAs

None found

Laylah

Canadian AWS data centres

In progress (AWS infrastructure SOC 2)

Yes

22 dealers and MGAs, 13 insurers

Named; consent tools in development

Cloven

"Canadian soil" in FAQ; policy hedges

None stated

No

6 dealer and carrier connections

None found

What does a CRM actually cost in Canada?

A CRM for a Canadian financial advisor costs about CAD $1,200 to $1,500 per advisor per year as of 20 October 2026, at the tiers a small practice runs, before implementation and tax. A separate AI meeting assistant is a second bill on top of that. Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, is CAD $1,068 a year and Continuum Core CAD $948, both on annual plans. Zocks, Jump and Focal run $804 to $1,200, and their pages state no currency. The CRM and the assistant together come to about CAD $2,000 to $2,700 per advisor per year, and more if the assistant bills in US dollars.

Estimated annual software cost, solo advisor and team of five

Assumptions: the tier a small advisory practice would actually run, annual billing where it's published (Equisoft/connect only publishes a monthly plan), five users at the same rate, and taxes, implementation and migration left out. These are arithmetic on each vendor's published prices, not quotes.

CRM (tier)

Solo advisor, per year

Team of five, per year

Not included

Wealthbox (Pro, $75, no code)

$900; $1,488 with the AI Notetaker

$4,500; $7,440 with the Notetaker

Billing basis not stated

Salesforce Financial Services Cloud (Sales Core, USD $325; USD $475 with Agentforce)

USD $3,900; USD $5,700

USD $19,500; USD $28,500

Partner implementation, Flex Credits, Shield

Dynamics 365 Sales (Professional, CAD $88.20; Enterprise with Copilot, CAD $142.50)

CAD $1,058; CAD $1,710

CAD $5,292; CAD $8,550

Partner build, Microsoft 365 licences, Microsoft 365 Copilot at CAD $488 per user per year

Maximizer (Financial Services, CAD $100; Financial Services+ with IQ Boost, CAD $125)

CAD $1,200; CAD $1,500

CAD $6,000; CAD $7,500

Onboarding, training, data import (quote)

Equisoft/connect (CAD $105, monthly plan)

CAD $1,260

CAD $6,300

Partner rates may be lower; AI assistant separate

Laylah (Growth, $120 billed annually)

$1,440

$7,200

Nothing for migration; FNA and portal included

Cloven (Standard, CAD $1,260 per year)

CAD $1,260

CAD $6,300

Migration fee up to $1,000; text automations $30 per month

Redtail, US reference (Growth, $59 billed yearly)

$708

$3,540

US hosting; no Canadian offer

Zoho CRM, general-purpose reference (Professional, CAD $31 billed annually)

CAD $372

CAD $1,860

Advisor configuration, feeds, forms and compliance are all on you

Add a separate AI meeting assistant

CAD $1,068 Bloks Companion; CAD $948 Continuum Core; $804 Zocks Essentials; $1,200 Jump or Focal

Multiply by five; Zocks adds a $25 admin seat

A second contract, security review and login

Four other lines drive the bill:

  • Add-ons. Some tiers include AI: Wealthbox's assistant, Maximizer's IQ Boost in Financial Services+, Copilot in Dynamics Enterprise and Cloven's assistant. Others sell it separately: Wealthbox's notetaker at $49, Salesforce's Agentforce add-on at USD $150 and Microsoft 365 Copilot at CAD $40.70.

  • Implementation and migration. Maximizer prices onboarding and imports separately. Salesforce and Dynamics need a partner. Cloven lists a migration fee. Laylah includes assisted migration, Redtail's is free, and Wealthbox's data team imports from the major CRMs with no price stated.

  • Billing basis. Wealthbox and Maximizer publish one number and don't say whether it's the annual or the monthly rate. Where both are published, monthly billing costs 10 to 20 percent more (Redtail, Continuum, Zocks, Laylah, Cloven).

  • Currency. Wealthbox, Jump, Zocks and Focal show no currency code, and they're US companies. At the Bank of Canada rate of 1.4054 on the first day of this review, $75 US is about CAD $105. Vendors' own CAD price lists don't track that rate.

Platform reviews

Is Wealthbox a good CRM for Canadian advisors?

If you're on the investment side and you want AI built into your CRM, Wealthbox is the one I'd look at first, once it confirms Canadian hosting. That's the catch: it still hasn't confirmed that Canadian client data stays in Canada, so settle that with your dealer before anything else. It also has no Canadian carrier or dealer feeds, and no French interface.

Pricing. Basic is $59, Pro $75 and Premier $99 per user per month on Wealthbox's pricing page, with Enterprise on request. The page doesn't say which currency, or whether that's the monthly or the annual rate. The sign-up links point to annual plans. The AI Notetaker is an add-on at a "special introductory rate" of $49 per user per month, and there's a 14-day trial.

Switching looks easy on paper: Wealthbox's data team imports contacts, notes, tasks and events from Redtail, Salesforce, Junxure, Dynamics, SmartOffice, Act! and spreadsheets in one to three days. It doesn't say what that costs.

AI. This is Wealthbox's strength. The AI Assistant comes with every tier. It reads contacts, tasks, notes, emails and financial summaries, and it only changes a record once you approve. The AI Notetaker transcribes Zoom, Teams, Webex, Google Meet, phone and in-person meetings. It builds your meeting prep from the last twelve months of CRM activity and turns the summary into a CRM note in one click.

Wealthbox says customer data is never used to train public models. If you'd rather use an outside assistant, Jump and Zocks document two-way sync (see Option B). Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, is listed in Wealthbox's integration directory as sending insights from calls, emails and documents to the matching Wealthbox records.

Canada. In my conversations this fall, where client data lives comes up early in most evaluations. That's where Wealthbox gets complicated. It announced in March 2025 that it would host Canadian customer data on in-country AWS servers from April 2025. At the time of this review, its Canadian pages were offline, no current page mentioned Canada, and its privacy policy said data for visitors outside the United States is stored on servers in the USA.

SOC 2 Type II is a vendor statement on its security page, with no report or auditor named. Until Wealthbox confirms Canadian hosting in writing, I'd treat it as US-hosted.

Is Salesforce Financial Services Cloud right for a small Canadian practice?

Rarely. Financial Services Cloud has the deepest advisor data model of the seven, and it can be hosted in Canada. But it's priced in US dollars, at three to four times what the Canadian dedicated CRMs cost, it needs an implementation partner, and it's usually supplied by a dealer rather than bought by a practice.

Pricing. Sales Core is USD $325, Advanced $500 and Max $700 per user per month, billed annually, on Salesforce's pricing page (the Canadian site shows the same). The combined Sales and Service editions are $350, $525 and $725. Agentforce for Financial Services Cloud is a $150 per user per month add-on below the Max edition, and its agents use Flex Credits at $500 per 100,000.

Salesforce Shield, for field audit trail and platform encryption, adds 30 percent of net spend. There's a 30-day trial. Implementation goes through a partner and isn't priced publicly. One US partner advertises a small-firm package at $15,000 for one to ten advisors (vendor claim).

AI. The wealth agent preps meetings from the client and household record, structures your typed notes afterward, and pulls action plans, goals and life events into the record. The Einstein Trust Layer says prompts and outputs are never used to train the underlying models, which are OpenAI's and run in the United States. Native transcription is a marketing line.

Salesforce's documentation describes note structuring, playbooks and follow-up emails. If you want an outside assistant, Jump and Zocks document two-way sync with Salesforce (see Option B). Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, syncs with Salesforce, including Financial Services Cloud: it finds or creates the contact, lead or account and saves each meeting summary as a note or interaction (vendor claim).

Canada. Salesforce's Hyperforce data residency article says the platform runs on AWS in Canada and stores customer data in the country where the org is located, although "data can be transferred out of the country for processing". You pick the region when the org is created.

Financial Services Cloud is within Salesforce's ISO 27001 and SOC 2 scope. A 2019 FAQ states PIPEDA compliance, and no Law 25 statement turned up. French is fully supported (languages list), and Incloud, in Montreal and Toronto, implements it in English and French.

Can Microsoft Dynamics 365 Sales work as an advisor CRM in Canada?

Yes, if your firm already runs on Microsoft 365 and will pay a partner to build the advisor data model. You need that partner because Dynamics has no advisor edition: households, policies and review schedules exist only as custom tables or a partner template, and the Professional tier caps custom tables at 15 (licensing guide).

Pricing. Sales Professional is CAD $88.20, Sales Enterprise CAD $142.50 and Sales Premium CAD $203.50 per user per month, paid yearly, plus tax, on Microsoft's Canadian pricing page. The US page shows $65, $105 and $150. Copilot comes with Enterprise and Premium, not Professional.

Microsoft's Sales agent, the one that captures Teams meeting takeaways and updates CRM fields, needs a Microsoft 365 Copilot licence at CAD $40.70 per user per month, paid yearly, on top of a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan. Implementation goes through a partner and isn't priced publicly. For a sense of scale, First West Credit Union's initial Dynamics 365 deployment took 11 months.

AI. Copilot in Dynamics 365 Sales summarizes records, preps meetings, drafts emails and answers questions from the records and SharePoint files you can access. Microsoft states that prompts and outputs aren't used to train its models unless your tenant admin opts in.

Canada. Microsoft runs Canada Central and Canada East regions. But a new environment in the North America macro region can land in the United States or in Canada unless the tenant has Advanced Data Residency (macro regions). And Copilot requests from Canadian environments are processed by Azure OpenAI in the United States.

Dynamics 365 is within Microsoft's SOC 2 Type 2 scope, and Microsoft publishes an OSFI B-10 and PIPEDA checklist. None of its published customer stories is a Canadian wealth dealer, MGA or advisory firm.

Is Maximizer the best Canadian CRM for financial advisors?

If your practice lives in Outlook and wants Canadian hosting and a French edition, Maximizer is the strongest fit, as long as you're willing to pay for onboarding. The catches: its AI summaries sit only in the Financial Services+ tier, there's no free trial, and its own site describes its carrier feeds in three different ways.

Pricing. Core is CAD $90, Financial Services CAD $100 and Financial Services+ CAD $125 per user per month (USD $65, $79 and $89) on Maximizer's pricing page. The page only says "per user, per month". The SaaS agreement is clearer: fees are billed annually in advance unless an order form says otherwise, and no monthly price is published. Implementation, training, data import and migration are all "additional purchase required", with no amounts.

AI. IQ Boost, only in Financial Services+, summarizes client records and household histories, flags KYC reviews and compliance details, and spots planning moments like RRSP-to-RRIF conversions. It reads what's already in the CRM, but it doesn't transcribe meetings. For meeting notes, you go through partners: Continuum and Focal write summaries, action items and contact updates into the record.

Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, saves meeting summaries as notes or interactions on Maximizer contacts and leads, and creates follow-up tasks (vendor claim; Maximizer's own pages don't mention it). There's also a Maximizer MCP server that lets Claude read contacts, opportunities, tasks and notes, and write tasks and notes back.

Canada. Your data lives in Canadian Microsoft Azure data centres, and Maximizer states SOC 2 Type II, with the report available through its customer success manager (Trust Centre). Ask for it.

Maximizer imports policies from 11 Canadian carriers through its insurance module, and investment data arrives through the firm's data lake. Its pricing page still marks "Investments and Insurance Data Feeds" as coming soon, though. The French edition launched in February 2026 (Advisor.ca). Named Canadian customers include iA Private Wealth's Reyes Group (vendor case study).

Is Equisoft/connect still the right CRM for insurance advisors?

If your MGA, dealer or carriers already feed it, or your network gets preferential pricing, Equisoft/connect is still the default for an insurance-led practice. It has no AI of its own, it doesn't document a public API, and it doesn't say where it hosts data. So it suits practices that value feeds and forms over automation.

Pricing. Equisoft/connect is CAD $105.00 per user per month on Equisoft's pricing page. The product page calls it a monthly subscription and lists $95 USD outside Canada. Partner and enterprise pricing is on request, and advisors in the PPI, HUB, Desjardins (SFL, DFSIN, IDC Worldsource) and Global networks get preferential rates.

Equisoft's terms describe a 14-day trial and automatic renewal, yearly or monthly by plan. Onboarding for an individual advisor isn't described publicly, though Equisoft says it takes one day to set up.

Features. You get a 360 client view, timestamped emails and calls for compliance, a pipeline, alerts driven by policy and investment data, pre-filled industry forms, unlimited document storage with retention lock, DocuSign and Mailchimp. Its feed list names seven carriers, about 45 MGAs and distributors, and back offices including Univeris, VieFUND, Winfund and WealthServ. The product page claims more than 80 data sources, and its advisor count runs from 20,000 to 30,000 depending on the page (vendor claims).

AI. There's none inside the product. Per Equisoft's May 2026 release, Continuum writes notes and tasks into the record, and "Ask Continuum now reads from Equisoft/connect data". Focal reads client history, tasks and portfolio details and writes summaries back, also per Equisoft. Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, pushes client information into it, per Equisoft's integration page.

Canada. Equisoft is SSAE 18 SOC 2 certified, with the type unstated on its security page. It doesn't say anywhere which country hosts your data, and its privacy policy says data may be stored in any country where Equisoft has facilities, including the United States. No Law 25 statement turned up.

Is Laylah a good CRM for an independent financial advisor in Canada?

If you're an independent advisor in Quebec or run a bilingual practice, and you want needs analysis, a client portal and Canadian hosting at one price, Laylah is a strong fit. It's weaker on AI and on proof of scale: its assistant and API are listed as coming soon, its own SOC 2 certification is in progress, and it publishes no customer counts.

Pricing. Growth is $120 per seat per month billed annually, up to 30 seats ($144 billed monthly), and Scale is $140 per user per month billed annually with unlimited users, on Laylah's pricing page. The French page shows the same figures in dollars. There's a 30-day trial and a one-user minimum. Assisted migration from Equisoft/connect, Cloven, Maximizer, Zoho, Canada Life's CRM and CSV is included, usually within 24 hours (vendor claim).

Features. You get unlimited contacts, cases with templates for account opening, annual renewal and needs analysis, and FNA for life, disability, critical illness and retirement with QPP and OAS built in. There's a client space for documents, smart forms and secure messaging, and a user-and-timestamp audit log. Its integrations page lists feeds from 22 dealers and MGAs (including Financial Horizons, Groupe Cloutier, HUB, IDC, Investia, PEAK, PPI, Quadrus, SFGT and WFG) and 13 insurers, plus Continuum and Focal for notes and Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, for notes and documents. What Continuum, Focal and Bloks Companion can read from Laylah isn't documented.

Canada. Your data is hosted in Canadian AWS data centres (security page). Laylah says it's "actively pursuing" its own SOC 2 certification. Its compliance page names PIPEDA and Law 25, with Law 25 consent management under development for 2026.

Is Cloven a good CRM for Canadian financial advisors?

If you run a small English-speaking practice with iA Private Wealth, Investia, NDEX or Canada Life books, and you want Zoho's whole toolkit set up for advisors at one Canadian price, Cloven is a good fit. It inherits Zoho's limits, it publishes no SOC 2 statement, and its Canadian-hosting claim isn't documented.

Pricing. There's one plan, at CAD $1,260 per user per year (CAD $126 billed monthly), on Cloven's pricing page, plus a $1,000 migration fee under onboarding and text automations at $30 per month. Its FAQ says about 80 percent of clients pay no one-time fee, and that complex data is billed at $100 per hour, capped at eight hours. You get a free demo account rather than a trial.

Features. You get 360 profiles with active policies and investments, households, an opportunity tracker, a workflow builder, birthday and annual review campaigns, and Zoho's suite of 50-plus tools, from e-signature and bookings to online forms and email marketing. Feeds arrive daily from iA Private Wealth, Investia and NDEX, on demand from Canada Life, and by CSV from Univeris and BlueSun.

AI. Cloven's knowledge base describes an AI assistant that analyzes CRM data for meeting briefings, cross-selling ideas, annual-review summaries and data-gap checks, reading records, notes, activities, emails, policies and investments. An AI Investment Bot creates tasks for high cash balances and RRSP-to-RRIF deadlines, for users with the add-on integrations. Continuum syncs meeting summaries and tasks into client records. Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, finds or creates the contact or lead, saves each summary as a note, meeting or call, and creates follow-up tasks (vendor claim).

Canada. Cloven's FAQ says "100% of Cloven data remains on Canadian soil". Its privacy policy says data "may be stored or processed outside of the jurisdiction it is received", and no page names a data centre.

Zoho runs data centres in Toronto and Montreal, so Canadian hosting for Cloven is plausible, but it's an inference. Cloven is English only. Its partner logos include Canada Life, Financial Horizons, HUB, iA Private Wealth and PPI (vendor claim).

Laylah vs Equisoft/connect

Pick Equisoft/connect if your MGA or dealer already feeds it and you want its pre-filled insurance forms. Pick Laylah for built-in needs analysis, a client portal and stated Canadian hosting. Over a year, Equisoft/connect comes to CAD $1,260 on its monthly plan and Laylah to $1,440 billed annually (its page shows no currency code; $144 a month if billed monthly). Neither has native AI today, and moving from Equisoft/connect to Laylah is included in Laylah's subscription.

Cloven vs Equisoft/connect

Both come to CAD $1,260 a year: Cloven on its annual plan (CAD $1,512 if billed monthly), Equisoft/connect on its monthly plan. Cloven is Zoho set up for advisors, with daily iA Private Wealth, Investia and NDEX feeds and an AI assistant that reads CRM data. Equisoft/connect brings about 45 MGA and distributor feeds, a forms library and no native AI. Neither gives a clean Canadian-hosting statement, and Cloven is English only.

What is the best CRM for insurance advisors in Canada?

Insurance-led Canadian practices should compare Equisoft/connect (CAD $105 per user per month) if their MGA or carriers already feed it. Laylah ($120 per seat per month billed annually, Canadian hosting) fits Quebec and bilingual practices. Cloven (CAD $1,260 per year) fits small English-speaking practices on iA Private Wealth, Investia or Canada Life books. Maximizer added policy imports from 11 Canadian carriers in 2026 and suits practices that also run investments.

Other options Canadian advisors ask about

  • Kronos Finance no longer exists as a product. Its domains redirect to Equisoft/connect, which Equisoft acquired in 2018.

  • SmartOffice, once Ebix, is now Zinnia's. It still runs at some Canadian insurance practices and has a Canadian-path site in English and French, but its terms say the service is available only in the United States. Pricing is by quote.

  • Redtail CRM (Orion) lists $39 to $65 per user per month and added native AI in September 2026, but its terms describe a United States website. It's a US reference point, not a Canadian option.

  • General-purpose CRMs cost far less per seat and ship AI. Out of the box, though, they have no household or policy model, no Canadian feeds and no compliance workflow. Zoho CRM is CAD $19 to $65 per user per month billed annually, hosted in Toronto and Montreal. Pipedrive is CAD $19 to $109 per seat per month billed annually, hosted in Montreal for Canadian sign-ups. HubSpot quotes Canadians in US dollars only, from a free tier to $150 per seat per month, plus a required $3,500 onboarding fee. Cloven shows that Zoho can be made to fit. The difference in price pays for the configuration and the feeds. Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, writes meeting summaries into Zoho CRM, with follow-up tasks, and into Pipedrive as meeting activities (vendor claim).

  • Practifi and XLR8 are advisor CRMs built on Salesforce. Practifi lists $195 per user per month for its AI-native Sentir product (launch pricing to 31 December 2026, $245 after) and "starts at $135" for Naya. XLR8 bundles Salesforce and its advisor layer at $80 per user per month, with implementation by quote. Neither shows a currency code, names a Canadian customer or lists a Canadian custodian or dealer.

  • BlueMind, from Markham, Ontario, is an AI-first practice-management system for insurance advisors with its own records, FNA and meeting notes at CAD $99 per user per month. It names no CRM integration, so it replaces a CRM rather than adding to one.

Traditional CRM, CRM plus an AI assistant, or an integrated CRM and AI platform?

Three setups are on the table for a Canadian practice in 2026, and none is right for everyone.

Option A: a traditional CRM

A dedicated CRM manages client records, activities, tasks and workflows, and in Canada it carries the feeds that keep policies and balances current. Equisoft/connect and Laylah are this option today, and so are Maximizer and Dynamics below their AI tiers.

A traditional CRM is the right choice when your dealer mandates the tool, when feeds and forms are the job, or when your team is disciplined about data entry. The cost is the entry itself. Beyond what email and calendar sync pick up, every meeting, call and decision gets logged by hand, and the record only shows what someone remembered to enter.

Option B: a CRM plus a separate AI meeting assistant

A common route in 2026 is to keep your CRM and add Jump, Zocks, Focal, Continuum or Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher. The assistant transcribes the meeting, drafts the summary and the follow-up email, and pushes notes and tasks into the CRM.

Ask each vendor one precise thing: what the assistant reads from the CRM, and what it writes. The answer changes from one pair to the next.

  • With the US CRMs, the leading assistants document both directions. Jump pulls contacts, notes, tasks and opportunities from Wealthbox and client and account data from Salesforce to prepare a meeting, then writes notes, tasks and field updates back after you review them. Zocks reads historical client data and emails from Practifi and Redtail data for prep and answers questions across connected systems, with the same write-back. Both store data in the United States (Jump, Zocks).

  • With the Canadian CRMs, the documented direction is mostly one way. Continuum's help pages document importing contacts from Equisoft, Laylah, Cloven, Maximizer and Act! and pushing a summary and tasks back. Nothing in its help documents reading existing notes, fields or documents, although Equisoft's own release says Ask Continuum reads Equisoft/connect data. Focal says it checks "your calendar, CRM, and prior notes" but publishes no per-CRM documentation. Maximizer's MCP server reads records for Claude. Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher and listed on Equisoft's and Laylah's integration pages, follows Continuum's pattern. It finds or imports the client's contact record and writes the meeting summary back as a note, with follow-ups as separate tasks only in Maximizer and Cloven (vendor claim). Laylah's and Cloven's pages describe what comes in, not what goes out. Continuum stores data in Canada with US-based AI sub-processors. Focal says Toronto-based Azure.

Some advisors I talk with describe the gap well: the assistant writes a good note, but it can't see last year's notes, the policy schedule or the documents. So the advisor still pulls the context together before the meeting, and some teams copy and paste between the assistant and the CRM. Check your own pair against the documentation above. Option B also means two contracts, two security reviews, two retention policies and two logins.

Option C: an integrated CRM and AI platform

The third approach puts the client record and the AI in one system. In principle, the assistant that writes the note can then also read past notes, documents and feeds held in the same system. Whether it does that well is what a demo has to show. Bloks, which publishes this article, calls this category an Un-CRM.

Vendors of this model claim contextual briefs drawn from the whole history, fewer disconnected tools, less manual entry, and automation that acts on what the record already knows. The trade-offs are just as real. Migration is a project, and your old CRM's history has to come across intact.

Integrated platforms are younger than Maximizer or Equisoft, so feature depth, carrier feeds and forms libraries may lag. And you're concentrating your practice in one vendor, which raises the bar on export rights, Canadian hosting and financial stability.

Among the seven reviewed here, only Wealthbox records meetings in its own product, with its AI Notetaker add-on, and has an assistant that reads its own record; it stores data in the United States. Dynamics 365 comes near for Teams meetings with a Microsoft 365 Copilot licence. Two Canadian products are built this way from the start: BlueMind, for insurance advisors (CAD $99 per user per month), and the Bloks Un-CRM, from this guide's publisher (CAD $149 per advisor per month billed annually, opened to a few practices at a time).

What matters specifically to Canadian advisors

What records you must keep, and for how long

CIRO's Investment Dealer and Partially Consolidated Rules require dealer records to be kept "for a minimum of seven years from the date the record is created" (Rule 3803). That includes records that demonstrate know-your-client, know-your-product and suitability compliance and that document correspondence with clients (Rule 3804). The Mutual Fund Dealer Rules set the same seven years (Rule 5.6), and so does NI 31-103 for all registered firms (section 11.6).

On the insurance side, the CCIR and CISRO guidance expects the basis of a recommendation to be documented and kept in the client file. Quebec's AMF regulation requires client records, including the needs analysis, to be preserved for at least five years after the last of three events: the file closing, the last service rendered, or the last product sold expiring without renewal. The CSA's December 2024 staff notice adds that AI systems used by registrants should be explainable enough to meet those record-keeping obligations.

For your CRM, that means a timestamped, exportable record of client communications and advice, retention you control, and an export path that survives if you leave the vendor. Maximizer, Laylah and Equisoft all advertise audit trails and retention features. Ask each one how it handles the seven-year clock on a cancelled account.

Nine questions to ask on every demo

  1. Does the CRM show the complete relationship: contacts, household, policies, accounts, documents, meetings and emails in one view?

  2. Can I search across the whole practice in plain language, and does the answer draw on notes and documents or only on fields?

  3. Can AI update the record automatically, and can the same AI read the existing record, history and documents?

  4. Which carrier and dealer feeds are live for my book, how often do they refresh, and do they land on the client record?

  5. How much manual entry remains after the feeds and the AI have done their part, and how many applications does a routine task still touch?

  6. How do assistants and associates share the record, and what does an assistant seat cost?

  7. Which of my existing systems connect, in which direction, and is there a public API?

  8. Where is the data hosted, which SOC 2 report can I see, and is client data used to train models?

  9. What do I get back if I leave: formats, timing, cost?

How to choose the right CRM for your practice

  • No dealer or MGA mandate. Shortlist by business line: Equisoft/connect, Laylah or Cloven if insurance-led, Maximizer if investment-led, Wealthbox only with Canadian hosting confirmed in writing.

  • Solo insurance advisor in Quebec. Laylah or Equisoft/connect: Laylah for the built-in FNA, portal and Canadian hosting; Equisoft if your MGA's feeds and forms are the daily job. Add Continuum if you want meeting notes in the record now.

  • Solo investment advisor under a dealer. Start with the dealer's approved list. If it includes Maximizer, the Financial Services tier at CAD $100 is the straightforward choice. If it includes Wealthbox, settle the hosting question first.

  • Advisor plus assistant. Per-user pricing hurts here. Zocks sells a $25 admin seat, Laylah charges per seat, and Maximizer and Equisoft charge every user the same. Ask about assistant pricing before anything else.

  • Practice of five, insurance and investments. Maximizer Financial Services+ (CAD $7,500 per year with AI) or Cloven (CAD $6,300) if your dealer feeds are iA Private Wealth, Investia or Canada Life. Budget a migration project either way.

  • Twenty seats or more, or a dealer. Salesforce Financial Services Cloud or Dynamics 365 with a partner, judged on total cost of ownership over three years, not on the per-seat price.

  • Microsoft-first firms. Dynamics 365 Sales Enterprise with Copilot, provided a partner shows you an advisor template working.

Conclusion

The decision comes down to five criteria: who controls the data feeds, where the data lives, what the record must prove to a regulator, how much manual entry the system removes, and what the whole stack costs per advisor per year. Shortlist two, run the nine questions, and price the full stack, not the seat.

  1. Wealthbox pricing
  2. Wealthbox AI Notetaker
  3. Wealthbox AI Assistant
  4. Wealthbox security
  5. Wealthbox privacy policy (effective 16 Dec 2025)
  6. Wealthbox Canada announcement, PR Newswire, 25 Mar 2025
  7. Wealthbox onboarding and migration
  8. Salesforce Financial Services Cloud pricing, United States
  9. Salesforce Financial Services Cloud pricing, Canada (USD)
  10. Salesforce Financial Services Cloud add-ons
  11. Salesforce Agentforce pricing and Flex Credits
  12. Salesforce Help, Hyperforce data residency (31 Jul 2026)
  13. Salesforce Agentforce for financial advisor assistance
  14. Salesforce Einstein Trust Layer
  15. Salesforce Canadian privacy compliance FAQ (PIPEDA, 2019)
  16. Salesforce supported languages
  17. Incloud, Salesforce partner, Montreal and Toronto
  18. Vantage Point, Salesforce FSC small-firm package (vendor)
  19. Microsoft Dynamics 365 Sales pricing, Canada
  20. Microsoft Dynamics 365 Sales pricing, United States
  21. Dynamics 365 Licensing Guide, October 2026
  22. Copilot in Dynamics 365 Sales overview
  23. Dynamics 365 Copilot data security FAQ
  24. Power Platform macro regions and data residency
  25. Copilot geographical availability
  26. Microsoft 365 Copilot pricing, Canada
  27. Microsoft SOC 2 compliance offering
  28. Microsoft OSFI B-10 and PIPEDA checklist
  29. First West Credit Union customer story (Oct 2024)
  30. Maximizer pricing
  31. Maximizer Financial Services Edition
  32. Maximizer IQ Boost launch
  33. Maximizer Trust Centre
  34. Maximizer SaaS Agreement (May 2025)
  35. Maximizer insurance module
  36. Maximizer carrier integrations
  37. Maximizer and Continuum
  38. Maximizer and Focal
  39. Maximizer MCP server
  40. Maximizer French edition, Advisor.ca
  41. Maximizer case study, Reyes Group, iA Private Wealth
  42. Equisoft/connect pricing
  43. Equisoft/connect product page
  44. Equisoft partners and integrations
  45. Equisoft partner pricing, PPI
  46. Equisoft partner pricing, Desjardins
  47. Equisoft and Continuum integration release, 12 May 2026
  48. Equisoft and Focal integration
  49. Equisoft security
  50. Equisoft privacy policy
  51. Equisoft terms (trial, renewal)
  52. Equisoft CRM comparison page (advisor count)
  53. Equisoft acquires Kronos Technologies, Investment Executive, 11 Apr 2018
  54. Laylah pricing
  55. Laylah pricing, French
  56. Laylah integrations and feeds
  57. Laylah migration
  58. Laylah security
  59. Laylah compliance
  60. Laylah subscription agreement
  61. Cloven pricing
  62. Cloven FAQ
  63. Cloven privacy policy
  64. Cloven iA Private Wealth feed
  65. Cloven Canada Life integration and discount
  66. Zoho data centres, including Toronto and Montreal
  67. Redtail pricing
  68. Redtail terms of use
  69. Redtail AI features, 9 Sep 2026
  70. Zinnia SmartOffice, Canada
  71. Zinnia SmartOffice terms
  72. Zoho CRM pricing (Canada)
  73. Pipedrive pricing
  74. Pipedrive hosting regions
  75. HubSpot Sales Hub pricing
  76. HubSpot data centres
  77. Practifi pricing
  78. XLR8 pricing
  79. BlueMind pricing
  80. Jump pricing
  81. Jump security and hosting
  82. Jump Wealthbox integration (help)
  83. Jump Salesforce integration (help)
  84. Zocks pricing (data stored in the US)
  85. Zocks Practifi integration (help)
  86. Zocks Redtail integration (help)
  87. Focal: https://www.meetwithfocal.com and pricing https://www.meetwithfocal.com/pricing
  88. Continuum pricing
  89. Continuum CRM integrations (help)
  90. Continuum, other CRMs including Cloven, Equisoft and Laylah (help)
  91. Continuum security
  92. PIPEDA, Schedule 1, principle 4.1.3
  93. OPC, Guidelines for processing personal data across borders (2009)
  94. Quebec, Act respecting the protection of personal information in the private sector (Law 25), s. 17
  95. CIRO Investment Dealer and Partially Consolidated Rules (Rule 3800 series)
  96. CIRO Mutual Fund Dealer Rules (Rule 5)
  97. NI 31-103, s. 11.5 and 11.6 (BCSC consolidation, June 2026)
  98. CCIR and CISRO, Conduct of Insurance Business and Fair Treatment of Customers
  99. AMF, Regulation respecting the keeping and preservation of books and registers (D-9.2, r. 19)
  100. CSA Staff Notice and Consultation 11-348, 5 Dec 2024
  101. IG Wealth Management on Salesforce, Slalom customer story
  102. Richardson Wealth and Salesforce, Advisor.ca, 21 Sep 2026
  103. Manulife Wealth preferred programs, Investment Executive, 15 Sep 2025
  104. BMO Nesbitt Burns and Odlum Brown on Salesforce, Investment Executive, 5 Jun 2024
  105. Bank of Canada daily exchange rates
  106. Wealthbox Help, How do I backup my data in Wealthbox
  107. Salesforce Security, Privacy and Architecture documentation (data return on termination)
  108. Laylah features (assistant and API listed as coming soon)
  109. Equisoft partners (network pricing)
  110. Bloks pricing (Bloks Companion, CAD $89 per advisor per month billed annually; checked 21 Oct 2026)
  111. Zocks privacy policy (San Francisco address)
  112. Jump Series B release, Salt Lake City dateline, 19 Feb 2026
  113. Focal seed round release, San Francisco dateline, Business Wire, 9 Oct 2025
  114. Focal hosting on Toronto-based Microsoft Azure
  115. Continuum privacy policy (Toronto address)
  116. Wealthbox integration directory, Bloks
  117. Equisoft integration page, Bloks
  118. Bloks integrations (vendor page of this guide's publisher)

Frequently asked questions

No single CRM is the best for every financial advisor in Canada, but the fit is clear. For Canadian carrier and MGA feeds, look at Equisoft/connect, Laylah or Cloven. For Canadian hosting, French and top-tier AI summaries, look at Maximizer. Wealthbox offers modern AI built in, but its Canadian hosting is unconfirmed. Salesforce or Dynamics 365 suit large firms with a partner. Insurance advisors have their own shortlist above.

An independent financial advisor in Canada should start by asking their dealer or MGA which CRM it approves and feeds. With no mandate, choose by practice. If you're investment-led, look at Maximizer (CAD $100 to $125 a month, Canadian hosting, French). If you're insurance-led, look at Equisoft/connect, Laylah or Cloven. Wealthbox can wait until it confirms Canadian hosting in writing. Price the CRM together with any AI assistant you plan to add: the assistant is a second bill.

No public survey shows which CRM Canadian insurance advisors and MGAs use most, so the best evidence is network deals and feed lists. Equisoft/connect gives PPI, HUB, Desjardins and Global advisors preferential pricing, lists about 45 MGA and distributor feeds and claims 20,000 to 30,000 advisors (its pages differ). Laylah lists 22 dealers and MGAs. Cloven shows Canada Life, Financial Horizons, HUB and PPI as partners. All of this comes from vendor pages. Many advisors inherit what their network supports.

Generally, no. Canadian privacy law doesn't require a financial advisor's client data to be stored in Canada. But under PIPEDA, the advisor stays accountable for it wherever it's processed. And Quebec's Law 25 (section 17) requires a privacy impact assessment and a written agreement before it leaves Quebec. Your dealer or MGA may require Canadian hosting as policy.

A CRM for a Canadian financial advisor costs about CAD $1,200 to $1,500 per advisor per year as of 20 October 2026, at the tiers a small practice runs, before implementation and tax. Wealthbox lists $59 to $99 a month with no currency code. Salesforce Financial Services Cloud lists USD $325 to $700, or $725 with Service. A separate AI meeting assistant adds CAD $1,068 a year for Bloks Companion (from this guide's publisher), CAD $948 for Continuum Core, or $804 to $1,200 for Zocks, Jump or Focal. So the CRM and assistant together cost about CAD $2,000 to $2,700.

Wealthbox has no Canadian offer on its current pages. It hasn't confirmed Canadian hosting, and its privacy policy says data is stored in the United States. Redtail's terms describe a United States website with no Canadian offer. Neither has Canadian carrier or dealer feeds, or French.

Whether an AI meeting assistant can read your CRM, or only write to it, depends on the pair. Jump and Zocks document reading notes, contacts and accounts from Wealthbox, Redtail, Salesforce and Practifi, and writing back after review. For Equisoft/connect, Laylah, Cloven and Maximizer, the documented direction is mostly contacts in and summaries out. There are two exceptions: Equisoft says Continuum and Focal read its data, and Maximizer's MCP server reads records for Claude. Bloks Companion, from this guide's publisher, works the same way in all four: it looks up the contact record and writes the summary back. Ask for the help article, not the sales answer.

How long Canadian advisors must keep client records depends on who regulates them. At investment and mutual fund dealers, it's seven years from creation, under CIRO's rules and NI 31-103. Quebec insurance representatives keep them at least five years after the latest of the file closing, the last service or the last product expiring, under the AMF's regulation. Your CRM must let you export those records if you leave.

You can switch CRMs without losing client data if you plan the export. Laylah includes assisted migration, and Redtail's is free. Wealthbox's data team imports from the major CRMs with no price stated. Cloven lists a fee of up to $1,000, Maximizer prices data import separately, and Salesforce and Dynamics rely on partners. Ask what you get on exit: Wealthbox exports the full workspace as XML or JSON, Laylah allows one export every 60 days, Salesforce returns CSV files on request within 30 days of termination, and Maximizer offers custom backups at its then-current rates.

Every client, your only client.

The person across from you won’t know why. They’ll just feel it.

No setup, no training, and a dedicated team walking you through it if you want one. Encrypted at rest and in transit. You own your data.